Being an Abolitionist 150 Years After the Civil War

I sometimes describe myself as a neo-abolitionist. To me, this means that I am a historian of the abolitionist movement who upholds the principles of abolitionists like Wendell Phillips, Frederick Douglass, Lydia Maria Child, and William Nell. One of the ways that I do this is by supporting the fight against modern day slavery. While slavery is illegal under international law and occurs at a much smaller rate than it once did, it has not been fully eradicated. I believe that this is a horrific tragedy that must be remedied. There have been a number of public figures and private citizens who have become modern day abolitionists, including some veterans of the Civil Rights Movement, such as Charles Jacobs, John Lewis, and Barney Frank. I first got involved in the cause in 2011. That year, I was at a bicentennial event for Wendell Phillips, I met James Brewer Stewart, a Phillips biographer whose book, Wendell Phillips: Liberty’s Hero, is a must read for anyone interested in American history, civil rights, or both. He also founded the group Historians Against Slavery. I want to encourage everyone to join the organization. Information can be found here: http://historiansagainstslavery.org

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

